EPFO DSC mostly used for authentication on the OTCP portal for an online claim. You can submit your claim form and authorized with a digital signature for EPFO claim on the portal.

Describe of a digital signature in EPFO –

A digital signature is an electronic form of a sign that can be used to authenticate the identification of the sender of a document, and also ensure that the real content of the message/document that has been sent is unchanged.

  • Digital signatures are easily transportable.
  • It cannot be duplicated by someone else.
  • The technique to ensure that the original signed message arrived means that the sender cannot easily disclaim it.

 What is a Digital Signature Certificate (DSC)?

Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) is the electronic form of a paper certificate. these Certificates accept as proof of identity of a person for a specific purpose.

A Digital Signature Certificate can be confirmed electronically to prove your identification, to access information on the online or to digitally sign documents.

 Why do I need a Digital Signature Certificate?

  • A Digital Signature Certificate validates your identification electronically.
  • It provides a high level of security for online transactions.
  • It ensuring absolute privacy of the information transferred electronically.
  • These certificates encrypt information such that only the intended recipient can read it.
  • Digitally sign information give assurance to the recipient that it has not been changed in transit.
  • It verifies the identity of the sender of the message.

Where can I purchase a Digital Signature Certificate?

DSC are issued only through the CCA (Controller of Certifying Authorities ), Govt. of India, licensed Certifying Authorities.

What is the role of  CCA  (Controller of Certifying Authorities)?

The CCA ( Controller of Certifying Authorities ) is a Govt. of India undertaking that regulates and license the working of Certifying Authorities(CAs). The  CCA controls, the Root Certifying Authority of India (RCAI).

The CCA  maintains the National Repository of Digital Signature Certificate (NRDC), which contains all the certificates issued by all the Certifying authorities in the country.



Uses of the Digital Signature Certificates with EPFO?

As of now, the Digital Signature Certificates would be used for digital attestation of online applications, claims and digital verification of member details in respect of claims submitted by members. Once submitted with digital attestation with DSC, there would be no need to submit the physical claims to EPFO office.


 From Where  Purchase the DSC?

You can purchase with  the following website:




 Different classes of Digital Signature Certificates?

There are three classes of Digital Signature Certificates:-

Class 1 Certificate: This class of certificate is used for individuals/private only for subscribes E-Mails.

Class 2 Certificate: These certificates issued for both individuals and organization use. These certificates confirm that the information in the application provided by the subscriber does not conflict with the message in well-recognized consumer databases.

Class 3 Certificate: This certificate will be issued for both individuals as well as organizations. These are high assurance certificates, primarily intended for online applications, they shall be issued to a person only on their personal (physical) appearance before the  Authorities.

Which class of Digital Signature Certificates is required for digital attestation in respect of EPFO?

It may be noted that only Class 2 certificate or Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates would be required for the work related to EPFO.

After getting your digital signature certificate  (EPFO DSC) you should register your DSC on the OTCP portal of EPFO.

You should register your authorized signatory on OTCP( online transfer claim portal )of EPFO.

If you have more than one authorized signatory, then you have to buy one DSC (Digital Signature Certificate ) for each of the authorized signatories and register each of them on Online Transfer Claim Portal (OTCP) of EPFO individually.